Skip to content

ASMA 2024

The Sport Management Program and Partners in Sports hosted the 2024 Applied Sport Management Association (ASMA) Conference February 14 – 16, 2024. The conference was held in the Student Union with 270 attendees. The conference featured 28 academic sessions featuring scholars from around the United States. There were also 19 case study teams that competed in three divisions for the Case Study Competition.

The event began with an opening reception at Calhoun’s on the River with more than 200 guests in attendance. The event wrapped up with a closing awards ceremony where our own Dr. Adam Love was the recipient of the association’s Distinguished Service & Mentorship Award. Katie Kuka was also a finalist in the Graduate Student Research Competition.

Our program had presence throughout the academic sessions as Mr. Jim Bemiller, Dr. Lars Dzikus, Dr. Jeff Graham, Dr. Rob Hardin, Dr. Adam Love, Dr. Sylvia Trendafilova, and Dr. Steven Waller were all part of presentations at the conference. Students presenting were Ilina Arsova, Jess Hamdan, Ashley Hamilton, Irina Perfilova, Hunter Porter, Anton Schulz, Cassidy Smestad, and Gavin Woodard.

The ASMA conference has emerged into a preeminent event for applied sport research, sport practitioner panels, student case study competitions, and student research competitions. The Applied Sport Management Association goal is to build strong connections between scholars studying sport and practitioners working in the sport industry. The association also seeks to foster a supportive environment in which emerging scholars and aspiring professionals can exchange ideas and strengthen relationships.  

The conference was a reunion of sorts as well, as several program graduates returned to campus for the conference. Attending the conference:

  • Dr. Chris Barnhill – Belmont University
  • Dr. Lauren Beasley – Georgia State University
  • Dr. Chermaine Cole – Georgia State University
  • Dr. Patrick Crowe – Winston-Salem State University
  • Dr. Michael Diacin – University of Indianapolis
  • Dr. Ashley Gardner – Temple University
  • Dr. Josh Pate – Lees-McRae College
  • Dr. Jamee Pelcher – University of West Florida
  • Dr. Brody Ruihley – Miami University
  • Dr. Cheryl Rode – Niagara University
  • Dr. Jessica Siegele – UNC Pembroke
  • Dr. Allison Smith – UMASS Boston
  • Dr. Sarah Stokowski – Clemson University
  • Dr. Lizzy Taylor – Temple University
  • Dr. Jen Zdroik – Minnesota State University
  • Dr. David Zinn – Lander University

Thanks as well to the numerous faculty, staff, and students who participated in the planning and execution of the event. Ally Lanier, Callie Strong, and Cooper Camp were hosts for the opening reception. Session moderators were: Mr. Jim Bemiller, Dr. Jeff Graham, Jess Hamdan, Ashley Hamilton, Payton Johnson, Denise Morawek, Ariel Newell, Hunter Porter, Anton Schulz, and Cassidy Smestad. Dr. Love deserves recognition as well as the conference director.

The flagship campus of the University of Tennessee System and partner in the Tennessee Transfer Pathway.

sbobet mix parlay sbotop bandarqq pkv games dominoqq pkv games bandarqq bandarqq dominoqq dominoqq dominoqq pkv games pkv games bandarqq bandarqq bandarqq mix parlay