Skip to content

Spring Reception

Unfortunately, the Spring Reception was unable to be held at the conclusion of the 2019-20 academic year. But 13 students did receive a combined total of $19,250 in scholarships and awards this year. Partners has awarded nearly $220,000 to more than 165 students since its inception in 1998.

Recipients for the Buck Jones Award for Professional Promise were Kenny Miller and Grace Whiteley. The Dr. Joy T. DeSensi Award for Professionalism was presented to Vanessa Gonzalez. Service Award recipients were Brandy Moss and Syndey Snoddy. Scholarship recipients were Bailey Alexander, Kenzie Arihood, Allegra Collette, Alexandra Pelletier, Trevor Shelby, Grace Walker, and Peyton Woods. Anthony Carson was the recipient of the Emile Catignani Award for Active Living.

Spring Reception Speakers
2020 – Reception Not Held
2019 – John Fulkerson, Tennessee Basketball
2018 – Joan Cronan, Athletic Director Emeritus, Tennessee Athletics
2017 – Alison Ojeda, Head Coach, Tennessee Women’s Tennis
2016 – Missy Kane, 1984 Olympian, and Tim Mack, 2004 Olympic Gold Medalist
2015 – Phillip Fulmer, Member, College Football Hall of Fame
2014 – Butch Jones, Head Coach, Tennessee Football
2013 – Antone Davis, Director, Vol for Life Program
2012 – Dr. Buck Jones, Founder, Partners in Sports
2011 – Justin Wilcox, Defensive Coordinator, Tennessee Football
2010 – Mike Keith, Director of Broadcasting, Tennessee Titans
2009 – Jim Chaney, Offensive Coordinator, Tennessee Football
2008 – Steve Early, General Manger, Vol Network
2007 – Dane Bradshaw, Team Captain, Tennessee Basketball
2006 – Bruce Pearl, Head Coach, Tennessee Basketball
2005 – Tamika Catchings, Lawrence Johnson, and Tim Mack, Olympic Medalists
2004 – Tyler Johnson, Business Operations, Tennessee Athletics
2003 – Buzz Peterson, Head Coach, Tennessee Basketball
2002 – Phillip Fulmer, Head Coach, Tennessee Football

Partners in Sports
Creating opportunities for tomorrow’s sports leaders

University of Tennessee Sport Management
1914 Andy Holt Ave., Room 354
Knoxville, Tennessee 37996

The flagship campus of the University of Tennessee System and partner in the Tennessee Transfer Pathway.